Jayawardene stars as Sri Lanka beat Australia in the final T20 and win the series 2-0

Sri Lanka beat Australia by two runs in the D/L  method in the rain played  2nd  Twenty20 international at the MCG, as an surprising final over cameo from Glenn Maxwell went  in vain.

Needing 16 runs from Thisera Perera's last over, captain George Bailey (45 off  36) was caught from the second ball and then Shaun Marsh (47 from  40) was almost caught on the boundary by Nuwan Kulasekara only for the Sri Lankan to realise he was falling over the boundary.

The fast bowler was scarily close to giving away a six which would have provided Australia with a real possibility of victory. The win looking  too large an ask when Maxwell faced his 1st  ball needing 12 runs  from three deliveries, but the Maxwell smashed  two successive fours through point.

Maxwell, who engage in a words with the fielders as they conferred ahead of the last ball, could not finishe  the miracle turnaround though and missed the next ball outside off stump giving Sri Lanka triumph. The Sri Lanka,  won the series 2-0, reached a concrete total credit to the unbeaten balancing partnership between Mahela Jayawardene (61 off 45) and Perera (35 off 15).

In chasing after the early dismissals  of openers David Warner and Aaron Finch, both for 7, Shaun Marsh and skipper George Bailey set a hard basis for a run chase but their cause was not helped by a rain delay.

Australia gone the field after ten overs with the score at 2 for 60 runs  and a revised total of 122  runs was set, meaning the Australian batsman return to the middle needing 62 runs  from 30 deliveries. Thisara Perera named for the Man of the Match award.

Mathews guide Sri Lanka beat Australia by five wickets in the 1st T20

David Warner's most excellent  international innings couldn't help Australia turn around their standing as Twenty20 battlers in a humiliating five wicket loss to Sri Lanka on Saturday. Sri Lanka lost 4 for 23 at one stage during  their chase, but finally cruised to win with seven balls to left  at Sydney.

Thisara Perera (19 from 12)guide Sri Lanka  win with successive sixes, after Kusal Janith Perera (33 off 22) and skipper Angelo Mathews unbeaten 35  covered the way for win. David Warner (90 from  62 balls) was let down badly by his fellow batsmen as Australia set a humble target of 138 runs, in spite of losing just three wickets.

David Warner's brilliant  innings include with  five boundaries and three huge sixes. Warner named for the Man of the Award. Sri Lanka will face Australia on Monday in Melbourne.

West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs to win the ICC World T20 2012 Title

2012 ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Vs West Indes,Final,
R Premadasa Stadium,Colombo.

Marlon Samueles 78 off 56 balls and Sunil Narin 3 for 9 guided West Indies to beat Sri Lanka in the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Final at Colombo on Sunday.This Sri Lanka's fourth defeat since 2007.


West Indies won the toss and chose to bat first

West Indies 137/6 (20 overs)

Marlon Samuels 78
Darren Sammy 26
Darren Bravo 19

Ajantha Mendis 4-12

Target 138 runs from 20 overs

Sri Lanka 101/10 (18.4 overs)

Mahela Jayawardene 33
Nuwan Kulasekara 26
Kumar Sangakkara 22

Sunil Narine 3-9
Darren Sammy 2-6

West Indies won by 36 runs.

Man of the Match - Marlon Samuels

Man of the Match - Shane Watson

Bowlers shines Sri Lanka comfortable win over Pakistan and also reached Finals

Mahela Jayawardene 42 off 36 balls and Rangana Herath brilliant 3 for 25 guide Sri Lanka to beat Pakistan by 16 runs in the Ist Semi Final of the ICC World Twenty20 2012 at Colombo on Thursday. Sri Lanka reached grand finals. They will meet 2nd Semi Final Winners (Australia or West Indies) on Sunday's final game.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first, Rangana Herath replaced for Akila Dananjaya. Sri Lanka made slow start because the Pakistan bowlers played really well. Skipper Mahela Jyawardene made 42 runs from 36 balls and consists of 7 fours. Tilakratne Dilshan scored 35 runs.Hafeez, Ajamal, Afridi and Umar Gul take one wicket each. Sri Lanka post 139 for 4 in 20 overs.

In the chasing the target of 140, Pakistan made a good start.But after Imran Nasir dismissal on 20 the wickets are falling in a regular intervals. Mohammad Hafeez made 42 runs and Umar Akmal scored unbeaten 29 from 22 balls. Rangana Herath take 3 for 25 and Ajentha Mendis and Angelo Mathews got 2 wickets for 27 runs helped to restrict Pakistan to 123 for 7 in 20 overs.

Mahela Jayawardene named for the man of the match award, Jayawardene said, the crowd support our team well. we are probably 15 runs short but Rangana bowled well and also the our fielding was excellent. We need to win against the final best team and win cup, he added.

Malinga five wicket haul guide Sri Lanka beat England by 19 runs

2012 ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka

22nd Match, Sri Lanka Vs England
Super Eights, Pallekele

A fine batting performance and Lasith Malinga's five wicket haul helped Sri Lanka to beat defending champions England by 19 runs in the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Super Eight match on Monday. Sri Lanka completed their Super Eight stage with 3 wins. England and New Zealand are Knocked out from the tounament. Sri Lanka and West Indies are reached the semi finals of the ICC World Twenty20 2012.


England won the toss, and elected to field first

Sri Lanka 169 for 6 in 20 overs

Mahela Jayawardene 42
Angelo Mathews 28
Thisara Perera 26

Stuart Broad 3-32
Greame Swann 2-26

Target 170 runs from 20 overs

England 150 for 9 in 20 overs

Samit Patel 67
Graeme Swann 34

Lasith Malinga 5-31
Akila Dananjaya 2-26

Sri Lanka won by 19 runs. Man of the Match - Lasith Malinga

Jayawardene stars as Sri Lanka beat West Indies by nine wickets

2012 ICC World Twnety20 in Sri Lanka

18th Match, Sri Lanka vs West Indies, Super Eights, 
Pallekele Inernational Cricket Stadium, 
Sri Lanka

Jayawardene unbeaten 65 off 49 balls and Kumar Sangakkara 39 off 34 balls guided Sri Lanka to beat West Indies by nine wickets in ICC World Twenty20 Super Eights on Saturday. Sri Lanka lead the table with 2 wins.


West Indies won the toss elected to bat first

West Indies 129/5 in 20 overs

Marlon Samuels 50
Dwayne Bravo 40

Ajantha Mendis 2-12

Target 130 from 20 overs

Sri Lanka 130/1 in 15.2 overs

Mahela Jayawardene 65* (10 fours and 1 six)
Kumar Sangakkara 39* (5 fours)

Ravi Rampaul 1-39

Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets.

Man of the Match - Mahela Jayawardene

Sri Lanka clinch Super Over win against New Zealand

Sri Lanka beat New Zealand in a Super Over after match was tied at Pallekele on Thursday. Both teams are scored 174 runs in their 20 overs a Super Over was played for the result.

Tilakratne Dilshan scored 76 off 53 balls and it consists of five fours and 3 sixes. Sri Lanka were under pressure when they lose Kumar Sangakkara 21 and Jeevan Mendis 8 in quik intervals.  Sri Lanka ended the innings with 174 for 6 in 20 overs. 

Tim Southee restrict Sri Lanka 13-1 in Super Over but Lasith Malinga bowled well finishing the New Zealand with five runs short.

Sri Lankan Skipper said, it is nice to win under pressure. judging Taylor's reaction in last over we had won but it need a Super Over. Tilakratne Dilshan named as the Man of the Match.


New Zealand 174/7 (20 overs)
Rob Nicol 58, A Dananjaya 2-32

Sri Lanka 174/6 (20 overs)
Tilakratne Dilshan 76, James Franklin 2-34

Match tied, Sri Lanka won the Super Over.